Actions

  • Title
    Thomas Wilkinson papers
  • Reference
    TEMP MSS 128
  • Date
    1769-1836
  • Scope and Content
    The fonds consists of miscellaneous papers (1781-1836); papers concerning Thomas Wilkinson's visits to Scotland (1785), Wales (1824), Yorkshire Dales (1778) and various Yearly Meetings; verses and poems; letters (1769-1832); letters from John Pemberton (1787-1812); letters between Thomas Wilkinson and Mary Leadbeater (1782-1808); letters and journal (1810-1820) of Marianne Fothergill (1786-?), daughter of John Fothergill of Carr End, wife of Dr. Mayor, Professor of Anatomy at the University of Bonn; letters from William and Ann Knight to Thomas Wilkinson (1810-1820); "Askham volume" (1792-1819); papers of Sarah Hustler (later Mrs Charles Fry) (1821-1824); papers of William Smith (1804-1827); papers of Mary Watson and Rebecca Ridgway (1797-1818); letters to Thomas Wilkinson by the members of the family of Lord Lonsdale (1804-1818 (1836?)); papers of Juliet Smith and family (1791-1832); papers of Thomas Clarkson (1790-1819); copies of letters and other correspondence (1786-1831); papers of Thomas Wilkinson of Tirril (uncle of Thomas Wilkinson), Margaret Bowman and Elizabeth Remington (various dates); letters of Thomas Wilkinson and others (1794-1823); correspondence between Thomas Wilkinson and Dorothy Parker (1822-1829); various letters from the Thompsons of Appleby and Liverpool and others and a manuscript poem "Lowther" in Thomas Wilkinson's hand (1797-1829); papers of Mary Leadbeater, Abraham and Sarah Shackleton (1773-1830); letters to and from Mary Leadbeater, Mary Shackleton, Richard Shackleton, Abraham Shackleton, etc. (1797-1829); letters between various correspondents (Braithwaite, Alexander, Tuke and Crewdson); miscellaneous letters (1714-1832); papers concerning London Yearly Meeting (1785) and his tour in Scotland without religious service (1787) and with religious service (1787); answers to letters by Thomas Wilkinson (1788-1801); verses, "A medley of thoughts" and "Time"; thoughts on the British and Foreign Bible Society (1819); correspondence to and from Elihu Robinson (1783-1807); unidentified and miscellaneous papers; and 5 bundles of old family papers.
  • Extent
    7 boxes
  • Level of description
    fonds
  • Existence and location of copies
    Microfilm 33, apart from TEMP MSS 128/14 Papers of Thomas Clarkson (1790-1819) ( Microfilm 493N).
  • Creator
    • Wilkinson, Thomas, 1751-1836
      Thomas Wilkinson, son of Christopher and Elizabeth Wilkinson, was born on 29 June 1751 at Yanwath, near Penrith, Cumbria. (1) He was taught the rudiments of education by an old woman. In 1776, he became and Elder. In 1785, he rode a pony to Islington, then took a coach for Yearly Meeting in London. He inherited a small estate which he tilled. In 1787, he accompanied David Ducat (fl. 1787) and John Pemberton of Philadelphia, North America, (1727-1795) in Scotland. In 1790, he lived with his mother and 2 sisters. In 1791, he walked from his home to Yearly Meeting in London, 300 miles in 8 days; breakfasted with Edmund (1729-1797) and Jane ( 1734-1812) Burke, and was taken by the orator to see the trial of Warren Hastings (1732-1818). He gave an interesting testimony concerning John Pemberton, 'A testimony of the Monthly Meeting of Friends, at Pyrmont in Westphalia, Germany, concerning John Pemberton, of Philadelphia in North America' (Philadelphia, 1798). (2) He wrote a number of poems, one on slavery 'An appeal to England, on behalf of the abused Africans, a poem' (1789) and he worked against the African slave trade. He loved gardening and gave advice in that line. In 1804, his carts were seized and sold in lieu of payment for military tax. He kept a diary of his travel with John Pemberton. He published, in 1824, 'Tours to the British Mountains: with the descriptive poems of Lowther, and Emont Vale'. He helped Thomas Clarkson (1760-1846) to build a house for him and his wife. He became blind, and also poor, by becoming surety for some of his relations. He bore his calamities with unfailing resignation. In old age, his white hair fell almost to his shoulders, and his face was benign and animated. He died, a bachelor, on 13 June 1836 and was buried at Tirril, Cumbria, aged 85. ________________________________ Principal source: Dictionary of Quaker Biography 1. Westmorland Quarterly Meeting Digest Register of Births. 2. Rufus M. Jones, 'The later periods of Quakerism' (London, 1921) p. 30.
  • Archival history
    Given by Mary Nicholson Baker to the Library in 1949.
  • Normal location
    TEMP MSS sequence
  • Name
  • Subject